Sad Cypress (Hercule Poirot novel) .  Agatha Christie .  UB5072


Sad Cypress (Hercule Poirot novel)

 Agatha Christie

First published : 1940


Used book , but looks almost new , no damage.

Pages: 256

Paper back edition

Delivery : 7 to 14 working days (Delivery inside India only)


Hercule Poirot is a fictional Belgian detective created by Agatha Christie. Poirot is one of Christie’s most famous and long-running characters, appearing in 33 novels, and more than 50 short stories published between 1920 and 1975.


Sad Cypress

Elinor Carlisle and Roddy Welman are engaged to be married when she receives an anonymous letter claiming that someone is “sucking up” to their wealthy aunt, Laura Welman, from whom Elinor and Roddy expect to inherit a sizeable fortune. Elinor is niece to Mrs Welman, while Roddy is nephew to her late husband. Elinor suspects Mary Gerrard as the topic of the anonymous letter, the lodgekeeper’s daughter, whom their aunt likes and supports.

Neither guesses who wrote the letter, which is burned.


Mrs Welman dies before Elinor can call the solicitor. There is no will. She dies intestate, so her considerable estate goes to Elinor outright as her only known surviving blood relative.


Elinor settles two thousand pounds on Mary, which Mary accepts. Elinor sells the house she inherited. Mary dies of morphine poisoning at an impromptu lunch at Hunterbury, as Elinor, at the house, and Mary with Nurse Hopkins, at the lodge, are clearing out private possessions.

Elinor is arrested. Later, after the body is exhumed, it is learned that her aunt died of morphine poisoning. Peter Lord, in love with Elinor, brings Poirot into the case. Poirot speaks to everyone in the village. He uncovers a second suspect when Roddy tells him of the anonymous letter – the writer of that letter. Poirot then focuses on a few elements.



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sad Cypress (Hercule Poirot novel) .  Agatha Christie .  UB5072”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *